Seahawks linebacker Leroy Hill was arrested yesterday in an Atlanta suburb on misdemeanor marijuana possession. He had less than an ounce on him. And to this I say, so what?Mitten, you ask, what about the children - what kind of example does this set? My answer would be: lie to them. Or tell them the truth. I don’t care. I am so tired of my teams losing, it’s about time the “character” mantra that the Seahawks and Mariners sing on high from the mountain top take a back seat for a little while to “just win baby.” In no way should this keep the Hawks from resigning Hill to a free agent contract or hanging the franchise tag on him. This incident may even keep other teams from wanting to offer him a big contract.
It was unbelievably stupid on Hill’s part and he’s lucky he didn’t injure anyone. The cops found the knucklehead asleep at the wheel after he stopped at a major intersection. I thought I saw that move in a Cheech and Chong movie. “Up in Smoke” maybe? In any case, these guys make enough they can afford a cab ride home. No court date has been set and he posted a $1,500 bail.
But I don’t blame the guy for wanting to blow off steam. He spends half the year getting into the equivalent of nine or ten head on collisions a day. He’s going to have the arthritic knees and joints of an 80-year-old man by the age of 35. If he has a problem with the weed, get him some help, but he’s probably just doing what a lot of kids his age do. He smoked a fatty and got caught. Probably a good thing because from here on out he’ll call a cab.
Or maybe a couple of Mexican dudes in a van.

1 comment:
Couldn't agree more, dude. Well said.
Post a Comment